How to dial in a J-bass pickup

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to dial in a J-bass pickup

On the 'former-forums' someone, maybe Jacksonplayer or 7DT, posted some great info about dialing in a metal tone on a bass with J-pups. Since I'm too lazy to go there and subject myself to seizure inducing clickbait mines akimbo, I thought I'd just start a new thread and wait for whomever it was to come school me.

Memory-jogger: I was assuming the bridge pickup was the deal, not the neck, but was informed that was not correct...

Gratuitous bass shot:
    Don't expect much, it's not like I'm a Rocket Surgeon...

I prefer both pickups on. Bridge full on, but neck adjusted in to taste for added ... err, «girth»? Blending in the neck is like an opposite to the tone knob.

Comment

For most rock, I recommend starting with just the neck full up and then dial in the bridge until you get the right amount of cut and "clank". It'll probably be somewhere around 25% bridge in the blend, depending on the natural sound of the bass and what you're doing with the guitars.

Both pickups full-up is great for modern fusion or slap, but it's too "guitar-ish" and punchy for music with heavy guitars. That blend favors the same EQ ranges that heavy guitar does.

Going all neck pickup works for Motown or classic R&B where all you want is the thump. The Jaco Pastorius setting for classic fusion and fretless is 75% favoring the bridge but with the tone knob almost all the way down.

Comment

Thanks, JP! I'll message around with that this weekend for my SAW Preseason song...
        Don't expect much, it's not like I'm a Rocket Surgeon...

Comment

I've really been liking going full Neck pup. My EQ is almost flat, save for a touch of mids rolled back.

My bass is an Ibanez SR500, with Bartolini soapbar pups.

Comment