Writing bass parts

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Writing bass parts

As a guitarist, I mainly notice bass when it's off somehow and I almost always do bass with plugins and MIDI. I've increasingly found that my guitars just get less punchy when I add the bass...

How do you do bass on punchy riffs, especially with faster parts?

1. Follow the guitars more or less exactly
    2. Make a simpler version of the guitar riffs
    3. Fall back to more of pedal on root and maybe even slower (quarter notes instead of 8ths on the guitar for instance)?

Historically I've almost always done 1 but I kind of feel that the guitars stand out more when you do 3, without losing the glue between bass and guitars...

It's impossible to answer without hearing your music.

Iron Maiden, Judas Priest and Metallica all have completely different approach to this.

It all depends on the music, and intented feel/vibe as well as the actual arrangement of the instruments*

* = for example, when Iron Maiden are letting the guitarist play harmonized leadguitars, Steve Harris generally stays on root note, but when the guitarists play simpler chords Steve usually finds space to do his more intricate bass lines. And they usually have the bass very upfront in the mix, sometimes as loud as guitars.

Judas Priest (not talking Priests mid70s material, Im talking from 1980 and forward) often has the root note pumping at all times, with guitars taking all the spot light at all times. Bass is literally a background instrument both in the mix and playing style.

Metallica often follows the guitar riffs a lot note-by-note, for creating that tight bulldozer wall-of-riffs that they are known for. They also have the guitars very upfront with bass taking the backseat, but not like Judas Priest. Of course, we dont talk about And Justice For All here.

Comment

Something like this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zOqY3KgdSLI

Riffs for a new song: https://www.osirisguitar.com/ainharjargpt2.mp3